Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The ability to temporary disable syncing a folder without removing it from the list is available in FileCloud Server 19.1 and later.


When you select a folder on the FileCloud server to be synchronized, a local copy is placed in the location you choose.

When ServerSync runs:

  • Changes in local copies can be uploaded to the server, replacing the version on the server for others to see your changes.
  • Changes in server copies can be downloaded to your local file, replacing the local version with the one on the server so that you can see other people's changes.
  • You can add any number of folders for synchronization by repeating the Add a Folder process. 
  • Note that synchronization occurs one by one and not in parallel. So if you have a large number of folders setup, a synchronization cycle might take some time.

NEW One Way Sync Added in FileCloud Server version 19.1 and later:

When a new folder is being added to the sync list, users can now choose a Remote to Local type of synchronization.

  • This means that any changes made in the local folder are not uploaded to the server.
  • If the same file is modified on both the server and locally, there will be no conflict file created. Instead, the local file will be overwritten with the server version of the file.
  • If the file is deleted locally, it will be copied back from the server.

(lightbulb) This feature is available only for new folders that are added.

  • If you want to change the Sync type for existing folders, users have to delete the folder from the list and then add them back with the sync type required.

Administrators can also configure the sync type using RMC (Centralized Device Configuration).


To manage folder settings:

  1. From the system icon tray, right-click the ServerSync icon, and then select Settings.
  2. On the Settings screen, in the Server Folders section, click Edit.
  3. On the Settings screen, on the Folders tab, you can do any of the following actions:
OptionDescription

Add Folder

Opens a dialog called Add new Server Folder

  • Remote - Allows you to choose folders in the FileCloud Server
  • Local Folder - Allows you to choose where you want the local copies saved
    Note: By default, ServerSync does not accept local folder paths in UNC path format. To configure ServerSync to allow UNC format, see Allow UNC Paths, below.
  • Remote to Local - Allows you to choose in which direction you want to sync.
OptionDescriptionOverwriting Files
SyncAllows changes to be synchronized in both directions

Local changes can be uploaded to the server

Server changes downloaded to the local folder

(warning) When there are conflicts, you will be asked to choose which version you want to keep.

Remote to LocalOnly changes from the server are synchronized down to the local folder

Server changes downloaded to the local folder

(warning) Any changes to local copies are lost when they are overwritten by the server copies.

  • Sync Permissions - Allows you to specify whether you want to sync file permissions as well. This allows the administrator to manage permissions centrally using FileCloud and make them apply even on synchronized local folders.


To add a folder:

  1. In Remote Folder, click Select.
  2. In the file explorer window, all managed files for the server you are connected to are listed. Choose the one you want to sync, and then click Select.
  3. In Local Folder, click Select.
  4. In the file explorer window, choose from the directories on this local computer where you have enough space to store the server copies, and then click Select Folder.
  5. In Remote to Local, to allow changes to be synchronized in both directions, choose Sync.
Remove Folder

After selecting a folder, allows you to permanently stop synchronizing a folder with FileCloud server.

(warning) The folder and its contents are not removed from the local machine, in case you want to sync this folder again later.

To temporarily stop synchronizing a folder, use the Disable option.

Disable Sync

Allows you to disable synchronization of folders temporarily.

  • One or more folders can be disabled, instead of being completely removed.
  • Folders can be enabled again for synchronization by selecting the folder and clicking the "Enable Sync" button.
  • If all folders are disabled, then WARNING: No Server Folders selected for Sync is displayed on the Home screen.
Folder Permissions

First, you must select a folder.

Clicking Folder Permissions opens a new window to view and manage folder permissions.

  • If you have not imported permissions, then this window will not have any data to display.
Open Location

Opens a Windows File Explorer window showing the location of the folder you have chosen to keep local copies.

  • This folder is set when you Add a Folder and choose a Local Folder.

Allow UNC Paths

The following is an advanced configuration setting. Check with FileCloud support before adding it.

By default, ServerSync does not accept local folder paths in UNC path format, but you can override this restriction.  

To allow Local Folder to be entered in UNC format:

  1. Navigate to %appdata%/FileCloudServerSync.
  2. Open syncclientconfig.xml.
  3. Add the setting:

    <rowentry>
         <name>allowuncpaths</name>
         <type>bool</type>
         <value>1</value>
    </rowentry>
  4. Restart ServerSync.

  • No labels