Limiting what gets Synced

You can choose to limit which folders in cloud storage get synced. This is useful when you have terabytes of data in an account and you only want a few gigabytes of folders locally to conserve space.

To limit which folders are synced:

  1. In your system tray, right-click on the Sync icon and choose Open.
  2. In the mini-dashboard, click Dashboard.
  3. In the navigation pane of the dashboard, click Cloud Storage.
    The Cloud Storage window opens.
  4. Select the radio button for Sync only selected folders.
  5. Click Add Folders.

    The Select Folders dialog box opens.
  6. In My Files, Team Folders, or Shared with Me, navigate down to a folder that you want to sync, and choose Select.
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for each folder that you want to sync.


 To view Sync details about your selected sync folders:   

To remove a folder from selective sync:

To return to syncing all folders:


When you switch from syncing all files to selected files, any existing files in your sync folder will not be removed automatically. If you want to remove them, you must remove them manually. This is to prevent accidental deletion of any user files.

Selective Sync Behavior when Centralized Configuration is set

When the Sync app behavior is controlled centrally by the administrator (through User Policy → Device Configuration settings in the admin portal), users of the Sync app cannot add or remove selective sync folders unless they are given permission to override central configuration.

When a user tries to make any changes, the following message is displayed - "Centralized Configuration is being applied. Settings cannot be changed. Please contact your administrator for assistance."